What does the vegetable group contain?

What does the vegetable group contain?

The vegetable group includes vegetables and 100% vegetable juices. Vegetables can be eaten raw or cooked and are available fresh, frozen, canned, or dried/dehydrated. They can be eaten whole, cut up, or mashed. Vegetables are naturally low in calories and fat, and are free of cholesterol.

What are the main vegetable groups?

Based on their nutrient content, vegetables are organized into 5 subgroups: dark green; red and orange; beans, peas, and lentils; starchy; and other vegetables.

What are the 8 categories of vegetables?

  • Stem Vegetables. It is an edible part of the plant which is shoots from the roots or bulb and it always grows above the ground unlike roots or bulb.
  • Leaves Vegetables.
  • Flower Vegetables.
  • Stalk or Bulb Vegetables.
  • Seed Vegetables (Beans)
  • Root Vegetables.
  • Tuber Vegetables.
  • Fruit Vegetable.

What are some vegetable foods?

High-fiber vegetables

  • Artichoke. Share on Pinterest Artichokes are high in fiber as well as vitamins C and K.
  • Potato. As a staple vegetable, potatoes are a good source of B vitamins plus vitamin C and magnesium.
  • Sweet potato. Sweet potatoes are one of the starchy vegetables.
  • Parsnips.
  • Winter squash.
  • Broccoli.
  • Pumpkin.

What are the 5 food groups?

As the MyPlate icon shows, the five food groups are Fruits, Vegetables, Grains, Protein Foods, and Dairy.

What are the 4 main types of vegetables?

There are many types of vegetables, but four of the main, or most common, types are root vegetables, cruciferous vegetables, greens, and nightshades….

What are the 5 types of vegetables?

There are 5 subgroups of vegetables (leafy greens, starchy vegetables, beans and legumes, red and orange, and “other” vegetables) based on their nutrient content. Why are some types grouped by color then? Vegetables get their rich colors and taste from phytonutrients.

What is vegetable classification?

Vegetables are classified according to which part of the plant is eaten. Some vegetables fit into more than one category when several different parts of the plant are edible, e.g. both the roots and leaves of beetroot can be eaten.

What’s considered a vegetable?

A vegetable is the edible portion of a plant. Vegetables are usually grouped according to the portion of the plant that is eaten such as leaves (lettuce), stem (celery), roots (carrot), tubers (potato), bulbs (onion) and flowers (broccoli). So a tomato is botanically a fruit but is commonly considered a vegetable.

What are the 7 types of food groups?

These are carbohydrates, proteins, fats, vitamins, minerals, fibre and water. It is important that everyone consumes these seven nutrients on a daily basis to help them build their bodies and maintain their health.

What are the 6 categories of food?

The 6 Major Food Groups

  • Whole grains and starchy vegetables.
  • Fruits and non-starchy vegetables.
  • Dairy and non-dairy alternatives.
  • Fish, poultry, meat, eggs and alternatives.
  • Heart-healthy oils.
  • Elective or Discretionary Calories.

How do you categorize vegetables?

Vegetables are usually classified on the basis of the part of the plant that is used for food. The root vegetables include beets, carrots, radishes, sweet potatoes, and turnips. Stem vegetables include asparagus and kohlrabi. Among the edible tubers, or underground stems, are potatoes.

Share this post