Users' questions

Does Indiana have a Congress?

Does Indiana have a Congress?

Members of the House of Representatives are elected to two-year terms, one from each of Indiana’s nine congressional districts. Indiana has elected seven women and three African Americans to Congress. The current dean of the Indiana delegation is Representative André Carson (IN-7), having served in Congress since 2008.

Who is Indiana Senator?

Todd YoungSince 2017
Mike Braun (Republican Party)

What congressional district is Indiana?

Indiana’s 7th congressional district
Indiana’s 7th congressional district – since January 3, 2013
Representative André Carson D–Indianapolis
Area 265 sq mi (690 km2)
Distribution 99.7% urban 0.3% rural

What is the name of the two houses of Congress?

The legislative branch of the U.S. government is called Congress. Congress has two parts, the Senate and the House of Representatives. Congress meets in the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, DC. to the President.

Where is Indiana’s geographic center?

Marion County
The Geography of Indiana

Longitude / Latitude Longitude: 84° 49′ W to 88° 4′ W Latitude: 37° 47′ N to 41° 46′ N Indiana base and elevation maps
Geographic Center Explanation The geographic center of Indiana is located in Marion County, 14 miles NNW of Indianapolis. Longitude: 86° 16.0’W Latitude: 39° 53.7’N

What congressional district is Hendricks County in?

Indiana’s 4th congressional district
Indiana’s 4th congressional district since January 3, 2013
Representative Jim Baird R–Greencastle
Area 4,016.44 sq mi (10,402.5 km2)
Distribution 68.17% urban 31.83% rural

Who are Indiana’s nine representatives?

Current representatives

  • 1st district: Frank J.
  • 2nd district: Jackie Walorski (R) (since 2013)
  • 3rd district: Jim Banks (R) (since 2017)
  • 4th district: Jim Baird (R) (since 2019)
  • 5th district: Victoria Spartz (R) (since 2021)
  • 6th district: Greg Pence (R) (since 2019)
  • 7th district: André Carson (D) (since 2008)

Who controls the Indiana Senate?

The 2019–2020 Senate has a Republican super-majority, with Republicans holding 40 out of 50 seats. The Senate offices are located in the west wing of the second floor of the Indiana Statehouse, and the Senate chambers are on the west wing of the third floor.

What congressional district is Hendricks County Indiana?

Which congressional district number is Northwest Indiana?

Indiana’s 1st congressional district is a congressional district in the U.S. state of Indiana. The district is based in Gary and its surrounding suburbs and exurbs. It consists of all of Lake and Porter counties and most of western La Porte County in the northwestern part of the state.

Is Congress the same as the House?

Established by Article I of the Constitution, the Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form the United States Congress. The House of Representatives is made up of 435 elected members, divided among the 50 states in proportion to their total population.

What is the name of the upper house of Congress?

The Senate has 100 members and is the upper house of the United States Congress. It is called the upper house because it has fewer members than the House of Representatives and has powers not granted to the House, such as giving approval to appointments of Cabinet secretaries and federal judges.

Share this post